• Gustavo Alonso received the Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Department of Computer Science at the University of California, Santa Barbara, where he obtained his PhD.

  • Kaan Kara obtained second place in System Design Contest (FPGA category) of the 2018, 55th Design Automation Conference. More than 100 international teams participated in the two categories (GPU and FPGA).


  • Nora Hollenstein, our PhD student, and Jonathan Rotsztejn, our Master Thesis student,  won the 2017 International Workshop on Semantic Evaluation (SemEval-2017) "relation classification" competition, placing first out of 28 teams from all over the world. 

  • Jan Rellermeyer, Gustavo Alonso, and Timothy Roscoe receive the ACM/IFIP/Usenix International Middleware Conference 2017 Test-of-Time Award for their paper "R-OSGi: Distributed Applications through Software Modularization", published in Middleware 2007
  • Onur Mutlu elected ACM Fellow

  • Vasiliki Kalavri's PhD Thesis "Performance Optimization Techniques and Tools for Distributed Graph Processing" awarded the IBM Innovation Award 2017 by FNRS, the Belgian Fund for Scientific research.

  • Jana Giceva awarded the ETH Medal for her dissertation: Database/Operating system co-design

  • DoppioDB demo at SIGMOD 2017 selected as one of the best demos in the program ("doppioDB: A Hardware Accelerated Database" by David Sidler, Zsolt Istvan, Muhsen Owaida, Kaan Kara, and Gustavo Alonso) and won an honorable mention

  • Onur Mutlu received the DFRWS 2017 Best Paper Award as co-author of the paper "Improving the Reliabililty of Chip-off Forensic Analysis of NAND Flash Memory Devices"



  • Torsten Hoefler won the 2015 Latsis Prize

  • Pravin Shinde, Kornilios Kourtis, Antoine Kaufmann and Timothy Roscoe received the Best Poster award at EuroSys 2015 for "Dragonet: a Host Network Stack for Harnessing NIC Hardware".

  • Timothy Roscoe and Robert Soulé (USI) received the Google Research Award for the "Online Data Center Modeling" project

  • Torsten Hoefler received the ERC Starting Grant




  • Philipp Unterbrunner awarded the 2012 Chorafas Prize for outstanding contributions and excellent scientific achievement in his doctoral dissertation

  • Gustavo Alonso elected ACM Fellow

  • Philipp Unterbrunner received the ETH Medal Award for his outstanding Doctoral Thesis entitled: Elastic, Reliable, and Robust Storage and Query Processing with Crescando/RB

  • Campus Challenge course team under the supervision of Prof. Donald Kossmann won the European Accenture Campus Challenge Competition

  • Nihal Dindar is one of the Google Anita Borg Scholarship 2012 recipients
  • Jana Giceva received the Best Poster Award at the ACM EuroSys Conference 2012
  • Andrei Popovici, Thomas Gross, and Gustavo Alonso received the ACM AOSD 2012 Most Influential Paper Award for their 2002 Paper: Dynamic weaving for aspect-oriented programming. International Conference on Aspect-Oriented Software Development, AOSD April, 2002, University of Twente, Enschede, The Netherlands.


  • Pratanu Roy received the Best Master Thesis Industry Award for his MT: "Using Background Knowledge in Schema Matching and Ontology Alignment" completed at RWTH Aachen, Germany.
  • Sukriti Ramesh received the Fritz-Kutter Award 2011 for her Master Thesis: "CrowdDB – Answering Queries with Crowdsourcing
  • Timothy Roscoe received the D-INFK Golden Owl 2011 awarded by VSETH 
  • Donald Kossmann and Sukriti Ramesh (Systems Group, ETH); Amber Feng, Micheal Franklin, Tim Kraska, Andrew Wang, Reynold Xin (UC Berkeley); Samuel Madden (MIT) received the VLDB 2011 Best Demo Award 
  • IS Lab Project student team: Lynn Aders, René Buffat, Zaheer Chothia, and Matthias Wetter supervised by Cagri Balkesen, Peter Fischer, and Nesime Tatbul received the DEBS 2011 Grand Challenge Award.
  • Nihal Dindar, Peter Fischer, and Nesime Tatbul  DEBS 2011 Best Poster Award for
  • Donald Kossmann received the ICDE 2011 Most Influential Paper Award for for the 2001 Paper on skyline queries
  • Jens Teubner and Louis Woods received the BTW 2011 Best Demo Award 


  • Donald Kossmann honored as ACM Fellow, 2010
  • René Müller received the Fritz-Kutter Award 2010 for his PhD Dissertation: Data Stream Processing on Embedded Devices
  • Oriana Riva received the Ambizione Grant 2010
  • Gustavo Alonso and Bettina Kemme received the VLDB 10 Year Best Paper Award 2010
  • Timothy Roscoe received the Microsoft Research PhD Scholarship Award 2010
  • Tim Kraska received the SNSF Fellowship for Prospective Researchers, 2010



  • Donald Kossmann received the Google Research Award 2008
  • The Systems Group awarded grant from Microsoft as part of the Microsoft Innovation Cluster for Embedded Software (ICES)
  • Nesime Tatbul received the IBM Faculty Award 2008
  • Oriana Riva received the  ETH Fellowship 2008